The Power of Colour

Life is colourful. From the emerald green of the open fields to the cool blue of the sky, it is an integral part of our lives that we often take for granted. It is everywhere, a part of everything, and it has the power to affect our thoughts and moods.

For many years, colour has been used in the consumer market through advertising and packaging to influence how we feel about a product, and can therefore have an effect on whether we might commit to buying it, or not.


We often see ‘SALE’ signs written in a bold red to make us stop and pay attention. In hospitals it is common for the walls to be painted green in the operating rooms. On the colour wheel green is the opposite colour to red, the colour of blood (also called, complimentary colours). One balances out the other.

Colour is also used as a tool for bringing about healing and for balancing the energy field of the body.


As Human Beings, we are a physical, organic mass of dense matter, but that matter is actually miniscule particles that vibrate within their own space, so really, we are not solid after all. It’s our physical eyes that make us believe that we are solid. But if you had the ability to see energy, you would see something quite different when looking at the world and everything in it: a kaleidoscope of coloured light.

Light is made of many different wavelengths of colour, and as we are primarily Spiritual Beings of light, we are made of colour. What a lovely thought!

The rainbow is usually regarded as having seven colours: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet. But if we were to see it clearly, we would see that it is made up of all the colours, where one merges into the next.

The energy field of the Human body emits different frequencies which can be translated as colours of light. It is believed that there are seven main energy centres within the body (called Chakras). Each Chakra is a colour of the rainbow and relates to certain organs and body parts. See below:


Red, is at the base of the spine, and is called the Root Chakra.

Orange, is below the navel, and is called the Sacral Chakra.

Yellow, is below the ribs and above the belly button, and is called the Solar Plexus Chakra.

Green, is in the middle of the chest, and is called the Heart Chakra.

Blue, is at the throat, and is called the Throat Chakra.

Purple or Indigo, is in between the eyebrows, and is called the Third Eye Chakra.

Violet, is at the top of the head, and is called the Crown Chakra.

These energy centres are like spheres of light that spin at a particular speed, each one is different. They also emit a particular sound.

With every thought, feeling, emotion and action that we experience a frequency of energy is created, and that energy has a colour. Over time, particularly if we are subject to a lot of negativity, our energy field and the seven Chakras can become unbalanced, or blocked, and this eventually affects the physical body resulting in illness or injury. Those beautiful colours of the rainbow that make up our energy field become dirty.


The good news is, we can do something about it and restore balance. This is where Holistic therapy can be used. One method of healing and restoring balance is through the use of colour therapy.

Have you ever wondered why you are attracted to some colours and repelled by others?

Over the coming days/weeks, I will be sharing with you my knowledge and wisdom relating to the energy of colours and their unique principles.

And very soon, I will be launching a new creative project called: rainBOwHEMIAN. I am currently working on designing and creating clothing accessories, homewares, papercrafts and artworks with the rainbow theme in mind.

We could all do with our daily lives brightening up, and what better way than by using some rainbow colour.



One thought on “The Power of Colour

  1. Pingback: The Power of Colour: Red – Liz Keedy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s